Home The Order of the Arrow

Last Updated: Monday, November 16, 2009

Scouting's National Honor Society

Octoraro Lodge 22


OA Basics
The Order of the Arrow is a recognized official program activity of the Boy Scouts of America, intended to recognize those scouts who best exemplify the scout virtues of cheerful service, camping, and leadership.

The purpose of the Order of the Arrow is fourfold:

bullet To recognize those Scout campers who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives,
bullet To develop and maintain camping traditions and spirit,
bullet To promote Scout camping,
bullet To crystallize the Scout habit of helpfulness into a life purpose of leadership in cheerful service to others.

To be inducted into the Order of the Arrow a Scout must:

bullet Be at least First Class rank,
bullet Have at least 15 nights of camping, including a 6-day long-term camp,
bullet Be elected by his Boy Scout troop or Varsity unit,
bullet Participate in the "Ordeal" and induction ceremony.

Visit our Lodge's web site:
Octoraro Lodge 22



The Order of the Arrow (OA) was founded by Dr. E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson in 1915 at the Treasure Island Camp of the Philadelphia Council, Boy Scouts of America. He devised a program where troops would choose, at the conclusion of camp, those boys from among their number best exemplifying the traits embodied in the Scout Oath and Law, who would be honored as members of an Indian "lodge", the "Order of the Arrow". Those elected would be acknowledged as having displayed, in the eyes of their fellow scouts, a spirit of unselfish service and brotherhood. These rites make a lasting impression on scouts who have been elected to the "Order of the Arrow". It became an official program experiment in 1922 and was approved as part of the Scouting program in 1934.

In 1948 the OA, recognized as the BSA's national brotherhood of honor campers, became an official part of the national camping program of the Boy Scouts of America.

"The Order is a thing of the spirit rather than of mechanics, organization, operational procedures, and all that go with them are necessary in any large and growing movement, but they are not what counts in the end. The things of spirit are what count:

bullet Brotherhood - in a day when there is too much hatred at home and abroad.
bullet Cheerfulness- in a day when the pessimists have the floor and cynics are popular.
bullet Service - in a day when million are interested in getting or grasping, rather than giving."

National OA Web Site
For more information on the Order of the Arrow, please visit the National web site: http://www.oa-bsa.org/

  Boy Scouts of America  
  Copyright 2005 BSA Troop 62. All rights reserved.